Located in the heart of downtown Kirkwood, across from Walker Park, you’ll find a complete community of trained individuals looking to promote the YMCA’s core values and enrich your life. Whether you’re working toward fitness goals, trying find family-friendly environments or hoping to participate in group activities, the Kirkwood Family YMCA is the perfect place for you. 

Membership

Join today and let us help you achieve your goals!

Learn More

Leadership Staff

Ken Strawbridge
Executive Director
ken.strawbridge@gwrymca.org


Angie Cochran
Membership Director
angie.cochran@gwrymca.org


Victoria Kramer
Aquatics Director
victoria.kramer@gwrymca.org


Molly Yanics
Health & Wellness Director
molly.yanics@gwrymca.org


Jennifer Bergman
Director of Childcare Services
jennifer.bergman@gwrymca.org


Jon Grush
Sports Director
jon.grush@gwrymca.org


Dan Schulze
District Vice President
dan.schulze@gwrymca.org


Efforts to organize the Kirkwood Family YMCA began in 1950 with branch status granted in 1953. Programs were run out of a residence until 1957 when a church parish house, built in 1922, was purchased. The 16,000 square foot facility included offices, multi-purpose rooms and an auditorium.

In 1968, a four-lane pool, locker rooms, lobby area and weight room were added to the south end of the building. The 1986 capital campaign provided funds for another addition; however, in 1988, a fire destroyed the original parish house section of the facility and the construction plans for the addition had to be reworked.

In 1990, construction was completed on the 24,000 square foot addition, which features a gymnasium with running track, locker rooms, Nautilus center, multi-purpose room, babysitting center and administrative offices. Renovations were made and equipment added to the strength training and free weight areas in 2000.